Skip to content

Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #001 (Now with Roundup!)

April 14, 2011

My techie friends are probably familiar with T-SQL Tuesday (“…the SQL Server blogosphere’s first recurring, revolving blog party….on the chosen [SQL-related] topic,”), and my groupies will know of my spinoff called Un-SQL Friday (“a completely intermittant blog party about something SQL-adjacent”)…clearly, I’m a big fan of the blog party.

Introducing a non-techie blog party: GET HAWT FRIDAY!  THE best thing you can do for your fitness and health goals is to make them public…to be accountable to somebody else.  So this is the open invitation to participate in a weekly group blog.

  1. Tell us about your training this week for that marathon or mountain, the successes and slipups on your diet, thoughts and progress and whatever else you want.
  2. Mention in your blog that you’re writing for Get Hawt Friday, and link back to this post. (Next week I’ll have the #002 post for you to link to.) 
  3. Have your post up on Thursday or Friday to be included, and I’ll edit the post to have a quick wrap-up.

Anyone can jump in or out at any time, and your goals and method are YOURS…I don’t expect you to do what I do.  But this common accountability will really help us along our path to hawtness.

MAY THE HAWT BE WITH YOU!

Roundup

Shannon Lowder has been off the wagon, but now he’s back on. He shares “the technology I‘ve used in the past to be accountable.  I’m using Lose It [www.LoseIt.com] again to track the food I eat and the exercise I do every day to be healthy.” I love the common thread of recording what you’re doing; the fact of recording exercise and what you eat (and in my case, my measurements) really puts what you’re doing right in your face.  I just signed up with Lose It out…thanks, and great start, Shannon!

So…what are your goals?  How are you going to hold yourself accountable?

Yanni Robel is going to climb a mountain. She listed her goals, and what she actually did this week: She worked out and went to a climb meeting (what’s your goal, Yanni? What are you climbing, and when? I never did catch that…)  I really really like the idea of adding weight to a pack and walking with it…maybe I’ll put dumbbells in my regular backpack, and take short walks from work.  One thing stands out though: “I suck.”  Man, we’ve all felt that way…but you don’t suck!  You got your butt up and working out FOUR TIMES this week!  Me? I climbed 3 flights of stairs today…that’s it.  I say All Hail You, Yanni…you kicked ass, even if you didn’t feel like it.  Last thing: Post a link to your fundraising, and what it’s for. And keep kicking ass.

I decided to go to Little Si Mountain.   With a 1,576 ft summit and a 1,100ft elevation gain, about 2.3miles one-way, I thought this would be a good Sunday afternoon hike.  

 My friend Julie is starting at the same weight as I am – 150# – and has about the same goal (~130#). She talks about her diet changes – and let me say, this woman is CRAZY, in an extremely good, OMG-how-do-you-do-that kind of way…she’s milling her own wheat for bread! Talk about whole foods…   Julie’s got some health stuff (and I suspect balance issues) that keep her from a lot of conventional exercise, but she’s wisely taken up swimming.  Kick ass, Jules…I’m trying to eat grassfed beef and beans and stuff, and you’re on homemade yogurt. Crafty thing, you ;)

We’re all in this life together; none of us are getting out alive …

I blogged about making no progress in my first week, and ferreting out the problems.  I’m doing fine mentally, and happy about the roundup!

…with the continued encouragement of my fellow Mad Hawtters, I’ll naturally start getting my butt in gear week on week.

More entries should be coming in on and off…in the meantime, I’m utterly thrilled that the three of you have joined me on this. If we never get another “member” to our group, this will still have been worthwhile. We. Are gonna be. So. Frakkin. Hawt.

-Jen

30 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 4:06 pm

    Loved the idea!! I’ll be the first! I just updated my week-1 post and link it back to this post. I publish my progress every Sunday so I’ll link that post to your post on the Friday after. Here’s to being HAWT!

  2. April 15, 2011 1:47 am

    Ok, Hawt Girl, I’m in. Here’s a link to my first blog party post … http://southernmystic.wordpress.com/2011/04/15/operation-get-hawt/

  3. April 15, 2011 4:38 pm

    Awesome roundup Jen!

    For my training blog, they are all listed on this:

    http://yannirobel.com/mountaineering/

    There will be the summary of week-after-week training that I did. If you scroll down to the very bottom, you’ll see my ultimate goal, as well as the link to my fundraising page

    http://yannirobel.com/fundraising/

    Now to just make it complicated (I like to make simple things complicated – ha, what can you say, I’m a DBA), I have two separate post. Here’s another one for my weight/lifestyle/eating

    http://yannirobel.com/archive/2011/04/wake-up-call/

    So every Friday, I’ll link back two posts.

    This.is.Awesome. I’m so pumped.

Trackbacks

  1. Operation: Get Hawt « southernmystic
  2. Be Accountable With Lose It! | OurBodyTransformations
  3. 4HB: End of Week 1, Starting Week 2 « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  4. New Blog Entry @ OurBodyTransformations.com | Shannon Lowder
  5. It’s All About Community « Moments of Brilliance… or Not!
  6. Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #002 « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  7. Can’t I Have My Cake and Eat It Too? | Positively Shrinking
  8. Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #003 « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  9. Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #004 « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  10. Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #005 « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  11. Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #006 « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  12. Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #007 « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  13. Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #008 « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  14. Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #009 « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  15. Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #012 « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  16. Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #013 « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  17. Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #014 « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  18. Get Hawt Friday #016: THEN AND NOW « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  19. Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #017 « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  20. It’s Time to Get Hawt! « My Life as a Dancem0m
  21. GetHawt FAQ « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  22. Get Hawt, Week 5 Invitation « My Life as a Dancem0m
  23. #GetHawt – The Summer 2012 Edition « Voice of the DBA

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 889 other followers

