Skip to content

P90x update – the slacker weeks

August 5, 2010

Three weeks ago we skipped 1 or 2 workouts. Two weeks ago we were on vacation; worked out once in the four days we were gone. Last week we did 4 or 5 workouts out of the 6-7 we’re supposed to. And this week, we’re down to every other day so far.

We have two major problems: We’re not following the food guide as well as we should, and we’re waiting too late to work out. Boys go to bed at 8 or 8:30, and we start a 1.5 hour workout at 9pm…it’s no good, we just don’t have the energy. So we’ll move it up.

While I’m getting impatient – because my mind assumed I’d be the freakin Hulk after 4 weeks of daily workouts – realistically I’m pleased with my progress. I can get all the way through the ab workout (the Feifer scissors no longer destroy me) and am improving in form and reach.  I have a goal of being able to do my first unassisted chinup EVAR, and I’m very very close…I can pull myself up about 5-6 inches off the ground from a dead lift.  And the change is noticeable when, say, I carry groceries (a gallon of milk is NOTHING now) or both boys are climbing on me.

So we’re not being perfect, but we’re doing our best, and we’re not going to let it go.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

