Skip to content

Joy

August 27, 2010

On days when I work, I get up, get myself and the kids ready, drive them to school, and drive to work listening to the Paul and Storm podcast (I’m catching up on 3 years worth of back episodes). There’s one thing that delights me every work day, and today I had an added, bonus delight. First, the daily:

My Walk In

I park all the way across the parking lot from my building, to catch the full shade from a particular tree.  The walk across the lot is nice – I’m walking toward the rising sun, the breeze blows, the day is still relatively cool (for a Texas August).  Just next to and under the overhang of the building, there are big evergreen trees and big open sections of ornamental grasses. The area smells lovely because of the trees, and it makes me truly happy every day when I walk in.

Today I was finishing up my podcast as I walked in, and the end-of-cast song came on: it was  “I’m Going to Go Back There Someday”, with Paul Williams & The Great Gonzo (Dave Golez). I’m a child of the 70s and 80s, and The Muppet Movie – “I’m Going to Go Back There Someday” in particular – is my bag, baby.  I was truly delighted.

Do something today that makes you really happy…something that surprises your heart into laughing.

-Jen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

