Skip to content

Doing it now

November 29, 2010

I have,  more or less, everything I ever wanted. I wanted the big split level house, the family to put in it, the gadgets and fun and travel. I have it.

I’m very bad about charity. I don’t volunteer, I rarely remember food drives, and I procrastinate about making monetary donations.  I do give blood a couple of times a year, but that’s it.

My office is sponsoring two families for Christmas. These are women with kids, in shelters…they have absolutely nothing. This is all cliched and old hat, I guess, but it’s really hitting home with me this year.  My kids have everything, and theirs have nothing. I quit procrastinating, just now…jus stood up, dug out the wallet, and gave the organizer $25. I’m pressuring my teammates into donating.  And I know I haven’t given enough, haven’t done enough, but I guess it’s a start.

You: Stand up and give some cash to the charity organizer at your office. Or, hell…you’re online right now. Logon to some charity – RedCross.org if you can’t think of anything you prefer – and give a little. Every damn one of us can afford at least $15 or $25.

-Jen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

