Skip to content

Ow

February 25, 2011

We we went for a walk yesterday – me and two dogs and three kids. This wouldn’t be a big deal, but exactly on step three of the walk, the 3yo fell and scraped both knees bloody.

I comforted him for a while, and then pressed on with the walk, secure in knowing that he’d calm down soon.

He screamed and cried for the whole walk, all 15 or 20 minutes of it.   He’s fine, he wasn’t seriously injured. He was just THAT upset about it.

I’m writing this down because I don’t want to forget what psychological torture some parts of parenting are, and how it simply can’t be helped. This is why they tell you that you really need to be on some firm fucking ground before you start reproducing: because totally unintentionally, kids will push you to your absolute limits, and you have to hold on and stay rational, and just take it. Cope. Come up with strategies. Handle it.

I didn’t yell at him or do anything mean, I did okay. We all got back home okay. I’m just saying that sometimes it’s much, much harder than I could have ever imagined.

(The flip side, of course, is that sometimes it’s far, far better than I could have ever imagined, too.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    February 27, 2011 2:15 am

    Ain’t it the frakking truth.

Leave a Reply

