Skip to content

Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #002 (with roundup!)

April 21, 2011

Welcome to the second installment of GET HAWT FRIDAY!  I explained the concept in the first installment of Get Hawt Friday:

THE best thing you can do for your fitness and health goals is to make them public…to be accountable to somebody else.  So this is the open invitation to participate in a weekly group blog.

Rules:

  1. Tell us about your training, diet, thoughts, and whatever else you want.
  2. Link back to this Get Hawt Friday #002 post. 
  3. Have your post up on Thursday or Friday.

Shannon Lowder suggested that we write about the music we play during workouts, but I haven’t started a workout routine yet. So I’ll suggest we write a bit about whatever inspires us – what got us started, or keeps us going, or is right around the corner. And hell yeah, that can include music!

Roundup

TSQLPrincess wants to have her cake and eat it, too.  Don’t we all?  She kept her calories down and resisted tempation in the face of CERTAIN donuts, but gave in to cake. Hey, it’s about progress, not perfection!  I also seemed to miss her first Get Hawt blog , wherein she discovers both LoseIt.com (yay!) and her lactose intolerance (bummer!)

My goal for next week is to find out what foods I can eat that will fill me up more so I won’t be so hungry!

Sarah S the Dancem0m had great intentions this week that didn’t work out (no pun intended). Still, over 8 miles for the week plus class?  You still kicked ass.  And I gotta say…those tired weeks do happen, and I think it’s okay to listen to your body…and maybe check to see that you’re getting your nutrition in!

I did manage to squeeze a 2 hour nap in! I should have used that time to get a good long walk in, but I was too exhausted!

Southern Mystic was laid out by a sinus infection last week…talk about a tired week! “One evening, I went upstairs at 5, fell asleep, and slept for 14 hours. Clearly I needed it.” Exactly!  Good on ya for keeping with the nutrition, Jules.  Everybody else: go check out the gorgeous pictures of her garden flowers.

Top of my “lifestyle changes” list is just spending more time outside. I’m less likely to plunk down somewhere and not move if I’m outside. The kids really enjoy it, too.

Yanni Robel posted twice this week! That first blog tells of her good pain, her custom-made training plan, and the quote that lit a fire under her behind.  What’s more, she links to her miracle…I have got to sit down and read the whole shebang. For now, this nearly made me cry:

I had a chance to look at life in a different way.   I am doing this because I need to do this.   I’m doing this because I want to help American Lung Association to raise money to find the cure, but most importantly, I’m doing this because life is short, and I need to have a courage to start an adventure.   Any adventure.   I choose this one, because it so close to my heart and challenge me physically.  It’s my way of giving cancer a finger.

Kick ASS, woman.  You keep on kicking ass. The rest of us: help her fundraising efforts in support of the American Lung Association of Washington?s Climb for Clean Air. Go on, do it.

Yanni’s second blog post details her immense first-week success with the slow-carb diet (see The Four Hour Body, which I’m also following).  And she recruited!

I dragged my husband into this quest since I believe this effort it’s sooooo much easier if your husband/wife/partner is in it.   I don’t’ even have to convince him much since he’s so willingly participate.    I think that’s what make this slow-carb thingy a bit easier for me.   I’m not alone at home.  

I’ll have to sum up my contribution later…gotta run!

MAY THE HAWT BE WITH YOU!

-Jen

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2011 3:21 am

    Aww, shoot… my updates come out on Sundays just to keep consistent with the training schedule offered by the Susan G Komen Foundation. You can use my last week’s update: http://dancem0m.wordpress.com/2011/04/17/6-down-18-to-go/

    Let me know if you want to use that one, and I’ll add a link back to the blog party!

  2. April 21, 2011 6:14 pm

    Here’s mine from last Sunday:

    http://yannirobel.com/archive/2011/04/week-2-climb-for-clean-air-pain-equal-gain/

    I’ll have another one tomorrow after I, ehm, measure and weigh myself. I’ll put the link here tomorrow morning so then you can do a round up based on my two post.

  3. April 22, 2011 7:56 pm

    Okay. Here’s my contribution for the week: 🙂

    http://positivelyshrinking.wordpress.com/2011/04/22/cant-i-have-my-cake-and-eat-it-too/

Trackbacks

  1. 4HB: End of Week 2 « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  2. Flowers and Fitness: Get Hawt Friday #002 « southernmystic
  3. Can’t I Have My Cake and Eat It Too? | Positively Shrinking
  4. 7 Down… 17 To Go « My Life as a Dancem0m

Leave a Reply

