Skip to content

4HB: End of week 4

May 5, 2011

Contribution for Get Hawt Friday #004

Week four, really? Seems longer…

It has been a busy, busy week. As soon as I’m done writing this blog, I need to do the wrapup from LAST week, and put up THIS week’s GetHawt invitation…sheesh.

So, here it is: It’s been four weeks, and I’ve lost 5 pounds. That doesn’t completely suck, but it’s NOTHING like the results I expected from this diet. Sean’s not making major progress, either, and he should be.  Last night I started thinking, I could really use a week off, and back onto carbs.  Then, I revisited the book.

No.

Now is not the time to back off.

Now is the time to REV IT RIGHT THE HELL UP

It turns out, I’m still making several of the mistakes on the Four Hour Body “Most Common Mistakes” list. Here’s a summary of the list: 

  1. Not eating within 60 minutes of waking (preferably 30 min).
  2. Not eating enough protein. You need at least 20g per meal (2-3 eggs at breakfast, etc).  Eat as much as you want from the approved foods, or else you’ll downshift your metabolism. Don’t neglect legumes.
  3. Not drinking enough water. Especially so on cheat day.
  4. Believing you’ll cook if you normally don’t.
  5. Mistiming weighings with your menstrual cycle.
  6. Overeating “domino foods” like nuts and chickpeas.
  7. Overconsuming artificial (or “natural”) sweeteners. These provoke insulin release.
  8. Hitting the gym too often.

Me? I’m violating #2, 3, and oddly enough 4.  Oh, and 6, a little bit. And 7. Shit.

So here’s the game plan: For the next week, I will be ESPECIALLY STRICT about the diet. This week’s rules include:

  • Tons more food, especially beans.  Canned beans and chili for when I don’t have enough food on hand.
  • No more almond butter and peanut butter and nuts.
  • Water, water, water.
  • No more soda, period. (Ouch.)

This morning, I bought a pair of jeans that are too small for me. I can get into them and close them, but it’s not exactly pretty. I want to see how much progress I can make over the next week to looking good in them. Wish me luck!!

-Jen

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2011 8:42 pm

    A little progress is better than none, right? Easier said by people not expecting the results they are hoping for!

    My Mom did that for a diet program she was doing. She did a before and after video (12 weeks apart I think). The first one, she tried on her “skinny jeans” (though, that’s not what they were, just some too small). It too wasn’t pretty… the after video, she put them on again without much trouble. It was really cool to see (though, I couldn’t believe how brave she was to do that)! From day to day, I don’t “see” it as much. But when you compare pictures, what a HUGE difference!! We were all shocked.

    Maybe take a before and after pic in your too small jeans. Then you will really have a good idea of the progress!

    Good luck with the new goals this week!

Trackbacks

  1. 4HB: End of week 9 (a tad early) « Jen's Blog: We Owls

Leave a Reply

