Skip to content

Hiding from the kids

May 23, 2011

Kids are awesome and precious and I’d die for them and all that…but some days they make me want to hide.  This weekend was such a set of days.

Oldest was at her mom’s, but the two boys spent all weekend fighting on purpose – lots of teasing and screaming and whining and sulking. Even took my 6yo to Dallas Comic-Con, just him and me and Sean, and he was so sulky and bitchy we had to take him back home.  I think he had a bad headache, truth to tell,  but it didn’t make it any less frustrating.

I’m taking the kids on a two week trip, which includes air time and a cruise.  I will have some support, as my brothers are going, but Sean’s not…so I’ll effectively be on my own.  This is going to take a lot of strategizing, and not a little wine.  Anti-whine wine.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. southernmystic permalink
    May 24, 2011 12:56 pm

    Oh believe me, I know all about hiding from the kids. I’ve been known to make them lunch, then sit on the floor of the kitchen and quietly eat my own lunch, just for a few minutes of peace. I wish I had some advice for you … but truth be told, I got nothin’. It’s just the nature of the beast, especially with them being at their current ages. The best I can say is ‘Good luck, don’t kill anyone.’ In the words of the Bloggess, ‘Were your children eaten by bears today? No? Parenting success!’

  2. May 25, 2011 2:09 am

    Oh man!!! I’d say it’s in the air, but since we are on opposite sides of the country (with me north, you south), that can’t be the case… my kids have been fighting like crazy too!!!

    What’s the age difference again? Mine are almost 6 and 10 and at each other non-stop lately! It’s ok to hide sometimes! I’ve found that just getting them outside for a little walk seems to help ease EVERYONE’S tension (my own included). The 10 year old hardly ever wants to come any more, but that one on one time with the boy is pretty amazing too!

    Good luck on the vacation! A cruise with kids and no Sean? Wow! You go girl! 😉

Leave a Reply

