Skip to content

4HB: End of week 9 (a tad early)

June 6, 2011

This is my contribution for Get Hawt Friday #008.

So you know how I’ve been bitching and bitching and bitching about how little progress I’ve been making on this diet?  Well…I’m going to stop doing that now.

The scale has me at about 8.5 pounds lost overall (down to ~144.5 from 153), but remember those jeans I bought back in week 4? And how I said last week, “I’m in size 10 jeans, and the size 12 seems way too big now”?   Yeah, I wore my size 8 week-4-jeans yesterday, all day. AND THEY FIT.

I suddenly feel smaller, look smaller, and now objectively AM smaller.

I apparently can’t quit soda. I’ve tried, but I can’t. I’m fine with that…I’ve eliminated cream now, and that seems to be helping too.

Last random note: I picked up Lisette yesterday and told her about the jeans. I said “I’m probably on the heavy side of size eight, but it’s all good.” She said, “You know what they call someone who’s on the heavy side of size eight? A size eight.

Awww, yeah…

Edit: Everyone’s been talking food lately. Since nearly ALL of my weight loss is diet related – I’m doing some walking, but nothing dedicated – I thought I’d share some of the typical noms in the McCown household, using this week as a template:

  • It’s been nearly nine weeks, and I haven’t yet grown tired of eggs and turkey bacon. No surprise…it’s always been one of my favorite breakfasts, especially after you eliminate everything bready.
  • On request, Sean made tomato soup again this week – I could honestly live on this stuff, and this week I’ve been doing my best to prove it – with white beans as thickener, and ground beef in it. A whole meal in a bowl. I ate it four times yesterday, no joke – breakfast (with eggs n bacon), 1st lunch, 2nd lunch, and with dinner.
  • Last night we had nicely browned chicken breast, too. And cauliflower. Nom.
  • I’ll often make meatloaf – another favorite meal.  We haven’t been making tons of beans lately, so I supplement with canned, low sodium black beans.
  • Veg is a little hard for me to keep up with, but we rotate carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, and salad regularly.
  • Peanut butter is a weakness, but I’m sticking to the diet guidelines – no more than 2 tablespoons a day.
  • Diet soda doesn’t seem to be hurting me, but I’m keeping my intake down.
  • I’ve replaced much of my soda addiction with coffee, but since I’ve been using fresh ground Whole Foods beans in my French press, I cant’ stand most other coffees.  That’s the preppiest sentence I’ve ever written, but there you have it. No more cream in my coffee, just ~1/2 teaspoon sugar (that’s NOT on the diet) and some vanilla.
  • Also, tea and water. Kombucha tea when it’s in the house.
  • When I have a sweet tooth, I’ll eat a sugar free jello.

That’s most of what I eat these days. Sean’s a steak addict, and I partake…but it’s not the wild treat for me that it is for him.

I leave you with this video from Tim Ferriss, outlining some of the more important concepts from The Four Hour Body:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 3:36 am

    Way to go on the pants!!! I remember that feeling from my capris a few weeks back.. Awesome results!!! Keep it up!

    PS. Your girl sounds like quit the smarty!!! SIZE 8!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #008 – Now with roundup! « Jen's Blog: We Owls

Leave a Reply

