Skip to content

NaNoWriMo

October 30, 2011

NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) “is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to novel writing. Participants begin writing on November 1. The goal is to write a 50,000 word, (approximately 175 page) novel by 11:59:59, November 30.”  I heard about this a year or two ago from my friend Julie, a writer and doer-of-all-things. I was jealous. I’ve always wanted to be a writer, but frankly, never had the balls.

This year, my Twitter friend Matt started enlisting people for NaNoWriMo, and my friends Nic and Cami, and Robert are participating. How could I not?  Easy: I was ballless.  But I signed up anyway, and my post UmmmmDOG was my first public writing warm-up. Still terrified, I asked Julie for advice. Among other things, she said to consider my NaNoWriMo writing to be Draft Zero – it’s not even a first draft. And it’s going to suck. ALL writers’ first drafts suck. “Dare to suck!” she said.  So today I am daring to suck. (Yes, yes, TWSS.)

I wrote 400 words of total suckitude today for one writing exercise, and another 190 words of suckitude as another (specifically, dialogue) exercise. AND IT FELT WONDERFUL.

I’ve always-always-ALWAYS wanted to be a writer. Now I’m a craptastic writer, and I’m so happy. Thanks Julie, Matt, Nic, Cami, and Robert.  Just….thanks.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2011 4:00 pm

    Congratulations! Though I’m not officially joining NaNoWriMo, I am honoring it in my own little way!

  2. October 31, 2011 3:24 pm

    I AM SO HAPPY! Not only because you are writing, which is just awesome, or that I might one day get to read something you’ve written (not your zero draft, silly, your when-you’re happy-with-it draft!), but I am also happy because I have helped make you happy! Happy happy joy joy all around. Keep pluggin’ away at it!

    One more word to the wise: If you don’t make it to 50,000, it’s not a big deal. That’s just a landmark. The goal is to write for the joy of it, for the wonderful feeling of accomplishment, because it’s frakking cool to make shit up and write it down, not to meet some magic number someone decided was important. I say this now because if you’re anything like me (and you are) you could get to Thanksgiving and start panicking about numbers, and really, the numbers are not the point at all. The numbers are just there to give you a sense of relative completion, something to shoot for, a way to gauge your progress and to compare with others on the same journey, not a measure of success or failure. If you end up with 21,000 words at the end (like I did two years ago) or something similar, then success! You’re got 21 frakking thousand words of a story!

    And now I’m rambling, when you surely get the point by now … Love you much! Congratulations!

  3. nuurdygirl permalink
    October 31, 2011 7:13 pm

    This is going to be an awesome suckfest of fun!!!! I like the idea of “draft zero” because the idea is just to get the stuff out of your noggin…….not pretty, not done, not perfect. Just out there. It’s like the belly flop off the diving board….you just have to jump, and the next time around you can swan dive 🙂

    Can’t wait to see how it goes!

    • November 1, 2011 10:50 am

      Awesome Suckfest of Fun has to be some cover band or other…

Leave a Reply

