Skip to content

Pragmatic Laziness week 2 – the holiday hop

January 3, 2012
tags:

As you may have read in a previous blog, Prequel to an effort (#GetHawt) (or perhaps in my week 1 blog), I’m attempting to lose weight via pragmatic laziness, and with the use of clever and simple graphs. So far, so good, still.

My actual weight line has strayed farther over the Track line (which is the ideal track my weight shall take), but I’m still well within operational limits. Considering the holidays, I’m not at all surprised. *rubbing hands together* Everything is going to plan….

I ate almost obsessively over the last 2-3 days, but I’ve also been mostly off sodas, and walked something like 10 miles in the last week (in preparation for my walking 5k on the 14th). I expect to see a nice dropoff on the graph over the next couple of weeks…but even if I stay level, I’m still in range. Again: I love this plan.

I also like the weekly reminders I’m getting from my email calendar.  I was reminded yesterday that I’m still 4# under my max weight for the week. *more hand rubbing*

This week I’m back in the office, which helps. I drink a lot more water, eat a lot better, and snack a lot less here. Onward!

Oh, and rember that Sarah “the DanceMom” and I will be kicking off GetHawt again this month. I’ve no idea how or when, but we totally will. Word.

Jan 4 Update: First, my Mom is awesome. Whenever I walk – and I’m walking more than every other day now – I text her to say, “I just did 2 miles. How about you?” Today I wrote, “2 miles today, 1 yesterday. How about you?” She’s done 1.8 and 1.5 miles today and yesterday. ATTAGIRL, MA!!!

Also, I just stumbled across this post in WordPress: “Couch to Backpacking” Alternately Titled, “Lunges EVIL, Nutella GOOD.” This is excellent, considering that I’m kind of starting training for a Colorado hiking trip with Sean (most likely this summer), and I just (in November) finished a long recap of my 2001-ish hiking trip, which featured heavy use of the repeated mantra “up is bad, down is GOOD”.  Me likely.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mkultra76 permalink
    January 4, 2012 7:17 pm

    Down is good when you don’t have to crab-crawl over boulders facing the abyss you’re scared you will plummet into. 😉 Thanks for the shout out!

    • January 4, 2012 7:38 pm

      Heh, I’m a once-every-few-years hiker, so I’m not often suspended over an abyss. Down a well-marked path is good.

Leave a Reply

