Skip to content

Pragmatic Laziness Week 5 – Back on the horse (#GetHawt 003)

January 23, 2012
tags:

This week I broke the 160# barrier. Barely. But I broke through. I lost all the weight I gained weekend before last (after the 5k), so that’s good. I was strict with myself (decreasingly), I had two partners to be accountable to for workouts. I did okay.

I’m also getting frustrated with myself. It’s very nice that I’ve lost 5 pounds three times in the last month, but I’ve also GAINED 5 pounds each time. I’m fucking DONE gaining that back.

A little background: I’ve watched family members struggle with weight their entire lives. I never wanted to be 30# overweight at 35, 40# overweight at 45, etc.  Yet I do the same things I’ve watched them do for decades – I slip off of diets, I get too lazy to excercise, I justify eating binges or simply ignore it while I snarf down the tenth mini Reece’s cup of the day. And I’ve bloody fucking had enough of the self sabotage.

This is why I’m here. This is why I keep charting and posting the chart, and why I let the bouncing path between 160 and 165 glare out at me each week. This very visual, very accurate representation of what I’ve been doing to my body over the last 37 days may (I hope) turn out to be the most valuable tool I’ve ever encountered.

This says, Jen, you CAN lose weight. It also says, Jen, you have been failing.

I don’t expect to be 5# down by the end of the week. But I’d better be well within my “allowable weight range” by February 6, or I’m going to start letting you guys choose my daily workouts.

Get Hawt 003

So for the Get Hawt week 3 assignment, we’re to talk about the tools we’re using for our weight and fitness goals. I clearly rely heavily on my graph (download a configurable copy for free here).  I log weight and food daily at LoseIt.com, a free online service with apps for Mac and Android. I also use MapMyRun.com to plan walks and bike rides. And of course I use Twitter  to complain, get help, and get accountability.

I’m also suddenly thinking of using the 200 Situps app. I haven’t bought the app yet, but I started the program…week 1:

  • Day 1 (Monday) – 53 crunches
  • Day 2 (Wednesday) – 44 crunches
  • Day 3 (Friday) –

And the 100 pushups program.  Week 1:

  • Day 1 (Tuesday) – 31 knee (“girly”) pushups
  • Day 2 (Thursday) – 21 knee pushups
  • Day 3 (Saturday) –

Foodwise, I rely on a few things:

  • Coffee as a substitute for soda. (I use fresh beans, half decaf, sugar and cinnamon only.)
  • Eggs every morning. I love eggs. 1 whole and 2 whites scrambled together.
  • 1-2 T natural peanut butter a day, for my treats.
  • Homemade tomato soup and meatloaf, which I could eat for every friggin meal all the time forever.
  • I’ve found an awesome potato chip recipethat I’m now in love with…actually the whole family is:
    • Slice a russett in 1/8″ slices (easiest with a mandolin)
    • Mix with 2 T olive oil, some salt and pepper (and paprika if you like)
    • Bake at 400F for ~22 minutes. No need to turn, but you may have to take some out before others, to prevent burning.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2012 3:21 am

    Love your graph (and the entire “pragmatic laziness” idea) so much, I’m going to use it starting tomorrow. I still have A LOT of weight to lose, but find it hard sticking with any particular reduction diet. Maybe awareness and tracking can do for me what low/slow carb/calorie counting/Weight Watchers did not.

    • January 30, 2012 3:18 pm

      Excellent, Scott! Consider too joining our weekly blog party, too…there’s nothing like a little accountability and peer pressure to help you out. And it’s free, no obligation, no ads blah blah blah…

Trackbacks

  1. Get Hawt, Week 3 Round-up « My Life as a Dancem0m
  2. Pragmatic Laziness Week 6 – Adjusting Expectations (#GetHawt 004) « Jen's Blog: We Owls

Leave a Reply

