Skip to content

I’ve never been so mad in my life, and that’s saying something

March 21, 2012

I’m not sure I can recount the whole thing here, and I’m sure it’s not as bad as it sounds.

But.

My four-year-old (then, three-year-old) started private school – where his brother goes, and his sister went – back in August. Nearly since the beginning he’s been bullied by two kids a grade up from him.  The school has been uncharacteristically slow to move, and universally lax in communicating with us about the whole situation.  Our first indication that his complaints were real (he turned four in December, and has a very tenuous grasp on reality and The Truth) was mentioning the problem to an assistant teacher and hearing “Oh yeah, that’s been a real problem.”

That’s been a real problem? Really? WHAT, IN THE NAME OF ALL THAT IS GOOD AND RIGHT, THE-FUCK HAVE YOU BEEN DOING, AND WHY-THE-FUCK HAVEN’T YOU TALKED TO ME ABOUT MY FOUR YEAR OLD BEING BULLIED ON A DAILY FUCKING BASIS IN HIS FIRST YEAR OF SCHOOL???

It’s now been three rounds of “oh yes, that’s a problem”, with the appropriate amount of meetings and so forth.

Sean’s dealing with it. I’m too mad. I trust him implicitly to deal with it with the appropriate mix of professionalism and unbottled rage that is warranted at this time.

And Benny’s staying home from school for a couple of days.

I have never, ever been so mad. If you know me, that’s really, really saying something.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine permalink
    March 21, 2012 9:05 pm

    Ugh, I’m so sorry! I would be furious, too. A breakdown of communication like that is just unacceptable,

  2. March 21, 2012 9:10 pm

    I’m so sorry his school didn’t deal with it better.

    What kinds of behaviors was he dealing with (what was happening to him)?

    As a Mom of two children who were bullied some this year, I have an idea of how you are feeling. Luckily, the principles at their schools took it very seriously, and things got a lot better for my kids.

    Some kids are just so mean!!

    As a preschool teacher, I wonder if the teachers thought that some of the things they were doing in the classroom were helping the situation get better, or if they completely ignored it?It sounds like it wasn’t dealt with at all. That is REALLY sad, if that’s the case. Preschool can be a tough age, and it’s the adults’ jobs to make sure everyone is having fun, feels safe, and is able to learn. It sounds like your little guy was not feeling that way.

    Being able to look at both sides doesn’t help – I know. I was just curious what the teacher’s line of thinking was.

    Either way, when it comes to your own kids, the motto is ALWAYS – “Don’t f*ck with baby bear, or you will have to deal with Mama Bear” (or Papa Bear in this case). I hope this all gets dealt with so school becomes a fun, safe learning environment for your little guy again!

    Hugs to all of you!

  3. March 21, 2012 10:13 pm

    Holy crap! It’s bad enough that he’s had to deal with this, but it is completely unacceptable that you were *never* notified. Unbelievable….

  4. March 22, 2012 2:03 am

    FUCK THAT. Fuck it right in the eye. Man, the day Cameron mentioned he’d had some trouble with a kid on the playground, I emailed his teacher. She wrote back WITHIN THE HOUR (after school hours), and had a meeting the very next day with that kid, and the kid’s teacher. They followed up, had the counselor talk to them separately to make sure the problem was resolved, and communicated with me every step of the way.

    AND CAMERON ATTENDS A SLIGHT-HIGHER-THAN-AVERAGE PUBLIC SCHOOL.

    There is absolutely ZERO excuse for that shit. Go burn down their houses.

Leave a Reply

