Skip to content

The Best Food Around Here

June 18, 2012

I had yet another discussion about restaurants – we’re down to a very few places that we actually like consistently, and we really don’t like to waste our dining out dollars on crap any more.  Then I thought…hey, I should write this down. So here are our current winners in the area of Places That Can Sell Me Food:

Burgers – Five Guys / Twisted Root

Five Guys Burgers and Fries is a chain restaurant, consistently good.  VERY simple menu – burgers, dogs, fries, sodas – and simple wrappings.  And free peanuts while you wait!

Twisted Root…well, I think this is a chain. Anyway, they have gorgeous burgers and fries, jars of pickle chips at the counters, delicious shakes, and a great sticky-table atmosphere.

(In N Out can seriously suck it….yecch.)

Pizza – Mellow Mushroom

We first found these guys on an out-of-town trip, and a few months later, rejoiced when one opened up in the metroplex. Great hummus, excellent (if pricey) pizzas, great selection of beers.

And I still hold a special place in my heart for The Tomato, in Sanger…

Thai – Thai Chili (Las Colinas)

These guys are consistently good, over 10+ years of going there. Plus it’s got a nice outside eatery in a pretty part of town, and it’s hardly ever jam-packed. Try the garlic chicken.

Vietnamese – Pho Pasteur (Arlington, TX)

These guys are great, even though they’ve let their egg rolls slip in recent years.  Great big giant bowls of soup with fresh basil and sprouts and noodles and jalapenos and and and and…

(And when we’re in Seattle, we’re big fans of What the Pho.)

Expensive – Texas de Brazil / Fogo de Chao

Both  of these guys are gooooood. Not just the meats (though of course that’s just gorgeous), oh no…their “salad bar” of cheeses and cold cuts and marinated mushrooms and sundried tomatoes, etc etc, is absolutely to die for. O yum!

Ice Creamy Things – Paciugo Gelato

Paciugo (pah-chew-go) is a chain that may well be in your area. They are delicious and consistent and gorgeous.

Still searching…

We’re still looking for the ideal BBQ, Mexican, American, Chinese, and French food places (among others). Let me know if you have suggestions!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2012 9:13 pm

    Jen,

    I’m an east coast guy and I agree that five guys > in-and-out. However, I think the later does do a good job with thin burgers and skinny “french cut” pomes-frites. I make an effort to eat there when I’m on the lesser of the two coasts.

    The pizza place looks interesting, I’ll add it to my “list of chains to look for when I travel to other states”

    • June 19, 2012 2:58 am

      I’ve eaten at In n Out twice, and was deeply disappointed both times.

      YOU, however, will NOT be disappointed in the Mellow Mushroom. Word.

      • June 19, 2012 3:08 am

        Did you ask for the fries well done? Its actually one off the things they do, leaving it in the fryer longer than normal. Do you not like actual french fries when served at a proper French Restaurant (or by your french chef husband), for example mussels and pomme frites. I’ve always seen in&out as french fries and five guys as proper American nuke the fuck out of everyone fries.

        Don’t get me wrong, if I could only have one of the two chains I’d chose five guys, but sometimes I want the slower gentler death by heart disease of in-and out.

Leave a Reply

