Skip to content

Poor, sick little guys

June 24, 2012

I have a couple of poor, sick little guys. I took them in to the doctor Thursday for fever, and they tested negative on the short test for strep. We’ll get the long test back Monday.

In the meantime, we have steadily worsening little guys. Fever, headache, chills, swollen tonsils (on Ben), loss of appetite, general all-over ickyness,  and now the pukes. Poor Eric.  Poor Ben.

They’re both zonked out right now (and this, after Eric’s epic 3 hour nap this afternoon…he woke up thinking the night had passed…very disorienting for him).   But I fully expect we’ll be on call all through the night.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2012 6:04 pm

    What is the long test for strep? I assume the short test is that little plastic thing the doctor puts a the cotton swab on that takes like 2 minutes for a result. Is the long test the old school petri dish? I’ve never had a second strep test done.

  2. June 25, 2012 6:27 pm

    They send a second swab off to a lab. Presumably there they do the petri dish, I dunno.

    Turns out it’s “just” a virus…

    • June 25, 2012 7:05 pm

      I was in High school and my PC was a GP when I first had the “fast test” so I assume that a misdiagnosis wasn’t that big a deal at that age.

      Don’t know about TX but the procedure in Queens before the fast test has always been start taking the Antibiotics and when the results come back the Doctor will tell you if you need to finish the course. That never sat right with me. I’m the last one to start an antibiotics course, but I always make a point of finishing it if I start one.

      • June 25, 2012 9:33 pm

        That’s not what our doctor does. I took prescribed antibiotics on what turned out to be a virus once, and it didn’t turn out well. Had some sort of weird reaction I’ve never had before or since, like a rash on my feet. So no, our pediatrician doesn’t do that.

Leave a Reply

