Skip to content

Day zero: national novel writing month

October 31, 2012

Today is Halloween, or as some of the Writers say, NaNoWriMo Eve. For the last couple of days, I’ve been getting up earlier to do my writing, and running some practice word sprints (ish). Today I did part of a proof of concept story, and got about 1000 words in. I’m extremely pleased with that.

Last night I told Lisette about the whole thing, and she got excited and said she would join me. She started writing last night; I think she gets a pass for starting early because she’s only 13, and this is her first attempt. I’m thrilled with how excited she is about this.

So today I’ll try a little mind mapping, and tomorrow I’ll write the first words of my first long fiction. I’m giving myself permission to be very bad, to not edit, and not try to turn out a second or final draft the first time around. These things are typically so hard for me, it strangles my writing about 100 words in.

Sorry if some of the words above are wrong, or weird. I wrote this via speech to text on my phone. (Note: Edited by hand for nitpickyness.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2012 3:15 pm

    What text to speech program do you use?

    Also, I would be happy to read stuff and tell you where I think it could go, if you get stuck! I solemnly swear (I am up to no good) to not say a word about grammar, style, or anything else except plot. Unless I am just so wowed by your glory that I have to praise it.

    Trust in meeeee, just in meeeee …

    • October 31, 2012 3:44 pm

      I’ll keep you in mind…

      And I just use the speech to text on my iPhone. It’s mostly good, but it has no EARTHLY IDEA what I mean when I say “NaNoWriMo” (for example, Nano rhino) or when I try to spell it (e.g., “An 8 inch OWR IMO”). But as I say, it’s mostly good. Android’s is decent, too (tablet, phone).

Leave a Reply

