Skip to content

Living the Dream

December 13, 2012

I got to work this morning and stopped in the breakroom to make some coffee. A developer I see around came in as I was finishing up, and he asked me how it was going. I gave a considered, “Alright, actually.” I like to answer honestly (if briefly) when asked.

He sort of half smiled and said “Livin’ the dream,” the way that you do when you’re going about another mundane day in a fairly mundane life. I thought about this. “Actually, we kind of are,” I told him, and left for my cube.

Actually, we kind of are. I’m 36 years old, a little overweight, a little busy, a little frazzled by the kids and the regular problems of married and parental and professional life. I’m a busy person, I’ve always kept myself busy. But this IS the dream life. Yours is, too, I imagine.

Some of us have worse problems than others. More debt, more relationship problems, big health problems. But by and large, if you’re reading this blog post right here, right now, you’re somewhere air conditioned, reasonably safe from attack and insurrection and disease, with easy (if expensive) access to clean food and water and health care.

I’m continually surprised and grateful for being alive and free and mostly safe in this time and in this place. I get to worry and stress and complain, sure. But I almost always remember that I’m worrying and stressing and complaining while I’m living the motherfucking DREAM.

I don’t know if it makes me a better or a more moral person to be conscientious, but I think it makes me less whiny and entitled, and more content overall. And that’ll do.

Live your own dream.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2012 3:45 pm

    Well said.

  2. Melody permalink
    December 16, 2012 11:03 pm

    Absolutely! We all have problems, we just sometimes forget that they are first world problems.

Trackbacks

  1. Living the Dream « Lazy Pi Farm

Leave a Reply

