Skip to content

Untitled Short Story

January 6, 2013

“I’m telepathic, but only during sex.”

Rachel stopped with a spoonful of french onion soup in front of her mouth. “You’re telepathic during sex? I’m not really sure where to go with that. I mean…I didn’t mean, oh hell. I’d just like to note for the record that you got me to accidentally almost proposition you.”

Rich smiled. “Sorry. I should know better than to drop that bomb on somebody during the first course.”

“At least.  Assuming for the moment that date number three isn’t the one that tumbles us into bed, please expand on what you were saying. You’re seriously telepathic?”

“Yeah. I can read minds during sex, and I have a hard time not broadcasting my thoughts. I realize you won’t believe me, of course, until and unless we find ourselves there. I’ve told a grand total of two ladies in advance, not including yourself, and it still came as a complete shock.”

Rachel ate the soup, and thought a moment. “If you can only read minds during, then hopefully you only receive sexy thoughts, right? And if that’s the case, maybe it’s not the sex, but just really horny brainwaves.”

“Nah, I’d thought of that.” Rich waved away the overattentive waiter. “But I’ve been to movies with really hot stuff – like that last Bond film, the waterfall scene, right? – and I don’t get anything from the other audience members. Also? Sad to say, people aren’t always thinking sexy thoughts in the heat of the moment. Sex can come with a lot of anxiety.  But it can be nice, too.”

“Huh. You have a limited superpower, kinda. Sex-Think Man!”

“Hah, I guess, but it’s pretty damn useless, and can get embarassing. I don’t want to spend a good date talking about past flings, that just seems like bad policy.” Rachel nodded for him to go on. “But I will say that on one notable occasion, I had an encounter in a crowded dorm, and everyone within about a hundred feet got a really clear mental jolt.”

This struck Rachel so funny that she laughed herself into a choking fit.

But she was also very glad that her roommate was out of town for the weekend.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 7, 2013 10:38 pm

    MOAR. IT IS NOT FINISHED.

Leave a Reply

