Skip to content

Health Data

May 22, 2013

Look at the data. Look at what works.

Welp, looking over historical data (!!!) on LoseIt.com, re: weight and food. I gained 14# over September-December 2011 (biggest grouped gain), and lost 7# in July of 2012 (biggest grouped l0ss), among other metrics.  So I ask a few questions, and answer myself:

  • What the hell was I doing in late 2011, other than “giving the hell up”? I don’t know. I don’t keep good records when I give up.
  • What was I doing in July of 2012? The first Game On! competition.
  • What was I doing when I was in the best shape of my life? Working with a personal trainer, at a gym.

Time to put my hands together. I had my first session with a personal trainer (yes, expensive…yes, ass-kicking) today, and she’s also talking nutrition. So – looking at the results from last year – I’m going to follow the Game On! diet. I don’t feel like organizing a whole other, formal game…BUT. If you want to do an informal Game with me, lemme know. Kay? Kay.

By the way, why all the talk about diet and weight loss and all that? I’m a big proponent of positive self-image, especially in women, right? Right. But I’ve also seen what it’s like to slide further and further into “overweight”, arrowing toward “obese”. I’ve seen how damn hard it is to stop that slide, and how little energy you have once you get there. The things you love to do are way harder. What kind of way is that to live? I won’t do it, so here I am again, planning out the next campaign.

  • 7 hours sleep nightly
  • Daily exercise, 1 day off/wk  (the trainer’s ordered that anyway)
  • 3 liters of water daily
  • Protein, carb, and good fat 3x/day (meals), plus protein and carb 2x/day (snack)
  • No soda. (No wine?)
  • Good Habit: ?
  • Bad habit: ?

-JM

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

