Skip to content

Finish one, start one

July 2, 2013

Yesterday we finally finished the Queen’s Garden (the boys are calling it the Zen Garden, after a mode in Plants vs Zombies), by building and hanging the gate. The build was easy: cut picket fence posts in half, screw together with two crosspieces, paint (the boys did a passable job at this), and hang with gate hinges. Also a self-adjusting latch. It’s actually quite nice, and Eric – our official paint picker for this project – chose Tardis blue. Attaboyl

20130701-213736.jpg

Then today, we started on the treehouse! Officially, it’s going to be a multilevel clubhouse surrounding a tree…I’m just not confident in my tree-attachment skills. I AM confident in my post-sinking skills, so we did that today: Ben and Eric and I dug the holes, set and adjusted the posts, then Sean and I measured, eyeballed, staked and quickcrete’d the posts. No pic yet, as the last stage happened late-late in the sunset. Pix tomorrow, maybe.

Edit: Yesterday Sean asked me, “why are you so anxious to start this right now?” After thinking about it, I was able to say what I really meant: It’s hard to do stuff. It’s way easy to put stuff off. I put stuff off a LOT, especially when I’m unsure of how to proceed, so when I’m really interested in something, I absolutely MUST do that thing, and see it through fairly quickly.

Life flies by me. I never applied to study abroad. I didn’t travel like I wanted. I didn’t quite get my pilot’s license. I did audition for college theater and get a few parts. I did have gorgeous kids, and do some stuff with them that I wanted to. I did get my student pilot license.

So, there’s the lesson I’m learning. Do stuff when you can do it, as soon as you can. Otherwise I just put it off, and it drifts by. I want to build things with my family, and I want my kids to have a treehouse. So, there. We’re doing that.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2013 12:41 pm

    Looks great! I’m jealous of all the growth you have!!! Our garden is about a month behind due to snow lasting well into May, and the “rainy season” just ending.

    Your tree clubhouse sounds awesome!!!

    • July 2, 2013 2:13 pm

      I’m not entirely sure you want to be jealous of us…we just had our first under-90F day in weeks, and the A/C hasn’t been keeping up. This 88F weather is like…well, like L.A. on the beach, here…

      I’ll admit though, the tomatoes ARE amazing…

      • July 2, 2013 2:19 pm

        You’ve inspired me to write a post about my garden!! Keep up the great work! 🙂

  2. July 2, 2013 2:20 pm

    Can’t wait to see it!

Leave a Reply

