Skip to content

Ben and TV

October 10, 2013

Ben felt really bad, sick, the other day when we were out and about. I thought he might just be really hungry, so we ate. He was fine for a while and felt bad again, so we went home. He lay down to watch cartoons on the couch.

An hour later I asked how he was feeling.

“I’m fine. Apparently my tummy was telling me I had to watch tv cause it had been more than an hour since I got to watch any tv.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2013 2:49 pm

    Out of curiosity, what are your TV/screen time rules? Not sure what mine will be. I took Emily into a very crowded restaurant for the first time last week. We ate in the bar section. I was a little concerned when of all the interesting, new and loud things, she was most interested in the UFC fight on ESPN. If I moved her, her head kept pointing to the TV.

    I generally avoid exposing her to screens at this age. I like making her listen to lectures with my on youtube, but she faces away from the screen, However, once her eyes are developed I’m not sure what the rules should be.

    • October 11, 2013 2:05 pm

      We’re not really role models there…we let the kids watch too much tv. When I notice it getting really bad, I make them shut it off and go do something creative/active. TV is a mixed blessing: it’s brilliant for a stay at home parent when they need FIVE FREAKING MINUTES to get something done. But then, of course, addiction.

      In short: It’s all you on this one, man.

Leave a Reply

