Skip to content

Running, imprecisely

March 20, 2014

I was just asked, “Last week you ran a mile, now you’re doing four. How could you improve that much in so little time?”  My answer:

I’m tracking everything with Runkeeper, so I have actual numbers here…

  • I was only sorta out of shape this time around – my health overall is, I think, better than 3 years ago.
  • I’ve run or walked 8 days of the last 10 (wow, really?), with a total of 16 miles overall.
  • First few runs were between 1-1.5 miles; one Monday was 2.27 miles.
  • So, jumping to 4.5 miles was a big deal, in that I’m excited about it, but not a huge a leap as one might think.

And as I understand it*, you don’t necessarily have to WORK up to a big milestone, exactly. You have to work toward it, build up health/endurance, but lots of runners will run 2 miles a day during the week (I think), then do 10 on the weekend. I’ve been building up my endurance with these shorter runs, and finding that I’m not hurting or exhausted or way out of breath. So today, I just went for a much longer run, keeping the same (more or less) reasonable pace.

I’m having to (finally) learn the difference between “I can’t do this” (because of injury or exhaustion), and “I don’t feel like it” (because I’m goddamn lazy and any tiny bit of work makes me want to self-congratulate and sit down).

 Most importantly, I don’t have any injuries – no bad back or bad feet or bad knee. So, I was good to go.

I was really surprised, looking back, not at the miles I’ve done, but at the number of days I’ve walked/run in these two week. I’m going to hurt my arm patting myself on the back.

-Jen

*I’m an amateur runner, people. Talk to someone who knows stuff before you make decisions about your own running, kay?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

