Skip to content

Running in wavy lines

September 9, 2014

I’m looking for a marathon, and at some point, an ultra. So I went looking around online today, and found an endurance running event in Grapevine Texas with 6, 12, 24, 48, and 72 hour challenges.  The website isn’t terribly clear, but it looks like you pick your event, and then do 2 mile loops for that amount of time.

While on the one hand, it’s an interesting challenge…can you run or walk for a full day? Two? Three?  On the other hand, kill me in the eye with a sharpened marathon medal.

A part of me feels horrified to contemplate hours of staring at the same loop, running and quite literally getting nowhere at all.  Part of the joy of running, for me, is the huge satisfaction of looking around (at hour 1, or 3, or whatever) and going “MAN, I sure am a huge number of steps away from where I started! Under my own power, I have made it far enough that normal folk wouldn’t even consider BIKING this far!”

I want to see new things. I want to get somewhere using no machine. I don’t want to see how many times I can spin in a little circle, and say, “Gee, if I’d been going in a straight line I’d be in the Rockies by now!”  Numbers mean a lot, but they mean a lot less than, “What’s around the next corner?”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2014 4:48 pm

    You could make it even less pleasant by listening to an unabridged version of “Atlas Shrugged” by Ayn Rand. There’s an abridged version that’s 12 hours long. During John Galt’s long (80 page) speech you could pretend to be stomping on him.

    • September 24, 2014 4:50 pm

      That SOUNDS hilarious. The REALITY is probably more along the lines of adding hot coals and dry toast without water to said ultra.

Leave a Reply

