Skip to content

Running on hippie food

September 15, 2014

2014-09-15 10.00.13Yesterday I ate waffles and cheeseburgers. Today I’m eating oatmeal with flaxseed meal, dried fruit, nuts and pumpkin seeds; snacking a bit on edamame; and washing it down with mint tea and chia Kombucha. I tell you this because I want you to know I’m well-rounded (no pun intended there). I want to assure you that I’m not a 100% crunchy hippie that’s going to try to make you eat carob and rub hemp on your eyelids (or whatever). Or if I do, we can at least go get an Oreo milkshake after.

You see, I read books and get excited about things. I read a book several months ago, and got so excited about running that I’ve been suiting up no less than twice a week (usually 3-4 times) since then, even through my France vacation.  I just now finished reading Eat and Run, by ultrarunner Scott Jurek. So now I’m excited again about vegetarian, plant-based meals*.

But I’m a bacon cheeseburger kind of girl, at least part of the time. I’m a waffles and eggs, pizza and beer, by-gum steak and chicken kind of girl. I imagine, though, that I can totally do that part time. After all, I don’t eat bacon at EVERY meal.  What’s more, I’ve gotten here gradually – “here” being a place quite a long way away from my childhood, where you were lucky to get me to eat a carrot. Where one could quite easily list the kinds of things I would eat on a notecard. (“Cereal, bread, pizza, hamburger, fries, potatoes…”)

I’m quite serious when I say I really enjoy good food now. We can make a salad that’d knock your knickers off. We’ve got mushroom risotto that people pine after. Sean’s (can be) veggie curry…well, it’s not decent to speak of in mixed company. It’s that good.

So I’m gradually moving from a place of eating out of boxes, to one where fresh stuff is, like, GOOD. I eat it and feel good. I’m sure part of that comes from small amounts of Vitamin Smug (“Well done, Me…we’ve really eaten the old health food now!”), but some of that feeling is real, too.  The strategy is – get this – to mostly eat things I already like. Crazy, right? Thus, the oatmeal and fruit and nuts. I fucking love that shit, it’s so very very good.

Edamame? No, I’ve never really eaten it. But I figure I’ll try it, add it to the repertoire if it doesn’t suck. And so far, it seems to not suck.

Next up: Cooking a few things from our own recipes, from Scott’s book, and from the Meat Free Monday cookbook…vegetarian stuff like

  • Refried beans (oh yum)
  • Guacamole (oh crap, so yum)
  • Veggie chili (OH MY GOSH)
  • Tomato soup (I’m about to weep joyous tears)
  • Roast squash (….no words…)

and so on and on.

I guess I’m just going to focus on the good stuff, is all.

-J

 

*I’m making that distinction because Scott’s recipes don’t include dairy or eggs.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2014 3:06 pm

    Yum. Scott was a keynoter at a data conference last year. A few of us veggies runners had lunch together everyday because the conference didn’t offer veggie food. Which was very weird because the guy who owns and runs the conference is vegan.

    I loved hearing Scott’s stories about being a vegan endurance runner. And his photographs are both intimidating and funny.

Trackbacks

  1. No-packaged foods September (postmortem) | Jen's Blog: We Owls

Leave a Reply

