Skip to content

Reaching Goals

May 11, 2015

Sunday was the end of a training cycle – I’d selected an, I think, 16 week training thing from the RunKeeper fitness app – and I ran my one-woman 5k race. This, despite flooding and thunderstorms. I sort of made my goal, and I sort of didn’t. The thinking went like this:

  • I want to run a sub-30 minute 5k.
  • A 5k is 3.1 miles.
  • So, I need to run a little under 10 minutes per mile to meet my goal.

I was surprised, at the end, to find that I’d met my pacing goal – 9:42 minutes/mile on average – but barely missed my time goal. My final time was 30 minutes 13 seconds. It turns out, to run a sub-30m 5k, the pace must be 9:39 or less. Dammit. So, lesson learned: do the actual math when setting pacing goals.

But it’s at least a partial win, because one of the two goals was indeed pacing, and I met that. On top of that, I’ve been on a slow weight loss program (goal, 1lb / week) for 5 weeks, and I’ve lost 5 pounds.

It’s nice to finally start setting and meeting some goals.

-J

P.S. Oh, and the major limiting factor in my speed work seems to be my damn exercise induced asthma. At a certain speed, I simply can’t suck enough wind to keep going. So yeah, other lesson learned: get the inhaler refilled in time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

