Skip to content

Mini race report: Wildfire Half marathon

July 19, 2015

I’m in the middle of training for a half marathon, but I did the Wildfire Half last year. I wanted to go again for fun.

Differences this year:

  • Not really going for speed; the aim was to finish without hurting my training schedule.
  • Bit of a breeze this year. Nice.
  • I didn’t have my Camelback or my regular handheld bottle. Both of them need cleaning. The ~20 ounce bottle I bought along worked out mostly OK.
  • Focused on salt intake, which helped a LOT. I feel pretty good, thanks to the judicious use of 4-5 Nuun tablets. Handed out a couple of tablets to two women I’d been sort of playing tag with most of the race…they were grateful. (They had matching shirts that said, “Unicorns are awesome. I am awesome. Therefore, I am a unicorn.” Go Team Unicorn!)
  • The medal came with this cute little mini medal, like a charm for a bracelet. I like it.

So yes. Big fun. Oh, and this time I brought a whole change of clothes for after, and damn, does that help!

Update: Results: Wildfire Half Marathon, July 19, 2015

  • Chip time 2:52:34 (last year, 2:40:07)
  • Pace 13:10/mile (last year, 12:17/mile
  • Overall 202/296 (last year, 264/436)
  • Gender 102/165 (last year, 124/244)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

