Skip to content

Running shoe issue

September 11, 2015

So, my beloved Clifton Hoka One Ones, which I bought in June, seem to have gone from beautiful, fluffy-cloud-foot-landing to a kind of ow-ow-ow-rock-hard-freaking-ow landing. That’s not good, that’s less than 3 months of sub-20 mile weeks. And no, I don’t wear them other than for running.

So I talked to REI, and then exchanged them at REI. The suspicion is maybe I happened to get one out of a bad batch or something, but I wonder. This will be the test of whether it’s ME, or the SHOES.

So here’s the deal though. I’m at the end of a training cycle for a half marathon, and I have my final long run this weekend. 17 miles. In a brand new pair of shoes. Oy vey.  There’s nothing to do about it, though. Mile 17 or bust…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ed Rhoades permalink
    September 11, 2015 9:56 pm

    I’ve been wondering about those shoes. I have a pair of Brooks that I really like but they are really heavy. Over the course of 26 miles, I wonder if I would be better served with a lighter shoe. But, if they are going to lose their cushion, I’m out. Thanks for the heads up.

    • September 11, 2015 9:57 pm

      Well, I don’t really know yet for sure. I’ll post an update sometime.

Leave a Reply

