Skip to content

Things I Love: Stitch Fix

January 7, 2016
tags:

I’ve been getting shipments of clothing every month or two for the last year or so, and I can say definitively: I still really love Stitch Fix.

It’s a service that styles you specifically, sends 5 pieces to you at set intervals (I chose every other month), and you get to pick and choose what to keep. If you keep nothing, you’re just out the $20 styling fee. (You do have to send back the unwanted stuff pretty promptly, so if you sign up, make a habit of doing it right away.)

If I sound like a commercial, it’s because I feel genuinely how commercials WANT you to feel: excited, satisfied, pleased. I first heard about Trunk Club, and got really excited. People will shop for me? And send me things!? YAY! Yeah, Trunk Club was only for men at the time. Pbbbtht. So when I later heard about Stitch Fix I got excited all over again.

Things to know:

  • Shipping is free.
  • You set the frequency of shipments. I’m at every other month right now.
  • The clothes are not what I would call cheap. But (1) you can customize that too, and (2) for me, I’ve gotten to the point in life where I’d rather have a few good articles of clothes than 50 $5 t-shirts.
  • It takes time to refine your profile, and for your stylist(s) to get to know you. Your shipments may disappoint at first, but refine and stick with it.
  • You get a pretty big discount if you keep all five items in a shipment, but I have yet to like all five.
  • I think they do a LOT of things right: all of the above, plus guiding you through choosing general style preferences, asking them to eliminate things you don’t want (like shoes) or colors/fabrics/patterns you don’t like (animal prints, ugh), and so on.

Here are a few of the things I’ve kept recently:

stitchfix1 stitchfix2 stitchfix3

The shirt is comfy and adorable, the blazer is SUPER comfortable, and the wrap dress is cute enough that my daughter and I have agreed to share it. Looking forward to my next shipment in March!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2016 2:02 am

    What would you say you usually spend per fix on the items you have liked?

    • January 25, 2016 2:23 am

      Oh. Like $40-$80 I think, but you can set your per item price preference higher or lower.

Leave a Reply

