To A.A.: The weather

Dear A.A.,

It’s hot here. Of course, “hot” here is absolutely heavenly, compared to the hot I endured for 30 years in that-state-we-shall-not-name.

“Hot” here means I can still wear jeans and lightweight long sleeves, and I won’t feel like signing my soul over to some ice demon, or bathing in 64 ounce Slurpees.

I went to bed late Tuesday, got up at 4am (accidentally and against my will), slept a bit more, and still got up early to go meditate. I sound like I’ve got it so together, don’t I? But understand that for me, meditation is basically another type of health-supporting supplement. I could do without it, but it’s best if I don’t.

There’s a place in Boulder that has vegan pulled-“pork” sandwiches for a limited time, and they’re just dreamy. I’ll freeze one for you, if you like.

Love,
J.M.

Leave a comment