Holiday Review: Stuff I <3 at Home

For the last two years, I’ve participated in Sean’s InfoWorld Xmas Wish List, where we review a bunch of cool products and it’s all spiffy.  Sean has moved on from IW, and I’m thinking we’re probably not going to knock out a full review list this year.  On my SQL blog, I did a review of the techie things I ❤.  Here, I’ll review a few of the around-the-house things I absolutely adore….

Kitchen

There are a lot of things I adore in the realm of food and foodie things. Top on my list are McCann’s Irish Oatmeal – no, 1/2 hour is not too long to wait for awesome steel-cut oatmeal – and Diet Dr. Pepper (I’m an addict, what can I say?)  We also get some spectacular teas from Teavana – top of the list are Earl Grey Creme, and Peppermint. 

And for gadgets, I love my Kitchenaid mixer, and my Cuisinart food processor. I must also heartily recommend the Cuisinart Bread Maker, which can make jam! (Mentioning this feature invariable sends Sean into a fit of giggles, but it’s true.)

We have a ton of food books and magazines. Off the top of my head, here are some very-very favorites:

Around the House

I love, love, LOVE my The Oatmeal posters. That’s all I have to say about that.

And I love DVRs.  I’m so lame that I don’t have a specific one to recommend, I’m just sayin.

For cleaning, I love the cheapo sanitizing wipes – any grocery store brand – for countertops and suchlike. Favorite odor eliminator is Frebreeze’s extra strength stuff – my house has 2 dogs, a cat, four kids, and me and Sean, so you KNOW I know what I’m talking about in odor control.

Also, my house has white carpets. I know, kill me.  A friend at work recommended the Bissell Proheat Upright Deep Cleaner, and I got it, and I ❤ it. Easy fill, internal heater, hand tool, easy to use, and around $150.

I’m absolutely positive there are more things around my house that I <3, but these are the cream of the crop, so to speak.  Comment, enjoy, and happy days.

-Jen

Leave a comment